Congressman Rodney Davis

Representing the 13th District of Illinois

Reps. Rodney Davis, Tulsi Gabbard to Co-Host Bipartisan Medal of Honor Special Order

Sep 17, 2013
Press Release

Washington, DC – U.S. Reps. Rodney Davis (R-Ill.) and Tulsi Gabbard (D-Hawaii) will be co-hosting a bipartisan Medal of Honor special order to recognize all 79 living Medal of Honor recipients with one-minute speeches after last votes on Wednesday, September 18th.

“Since the first Medal of Honor was given on March 25, 1853 only 3461 individuals have earned it, and today only 79 living recipients remain,” said Rep. Rodney Davis. “In order to Airforceproperly honor these heroes, Rep. Tulsi Gabbard and I have invited our fellow Members of Congress, in bipartisan fashion, to come to the floor and speak on each one of the living recipients of the Medal of Honor. Although they may have fought on battlefields far away and in times long past, The United States of America will never forget their great sacrifice. I would like to personally thank Rep. Tulsi Gabbard for joining me in this effort across the aisle; as a veteran and current member of the Hawai’i National Guard, she exemplifies the values and discipline of our armed services.  ”

Army“I'm proud and honored to recognize the courageous actions and tremendous sacrifices of an elite group, including the likes of our very own Senator Daniel K. Inouye, who selflessly gave everything in the service of our nation,” said Rep. Tulsi Gabbard. “These incredible heroes have been awarded our nation’s highest military decoration for valor in combat. Their humble examples of what it means to be a true servant leader continue to serve as an inspiration to us all.”

The Medal of Honor is the highest U.S. military decoration, awarded by Congress to a member of the armed forces for gallantry and bravery in combat at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty. To date, 3,480 Medals of Honor have been awarded to 3,461 individuals, including 19 double recipients.

The Medal of Honor special order will take place in conjunction with the 2013 Congressional Medal of Honor Society Convention in Gettysburg, Pa. This year marks the Navy150th anniversary of the Battle of Gettysburg, where 63 Medals of Honor were bestowed.

The full list of living Medal of Honor recipients is as follows:

Angelo Liteky                                                                                          
Harold Fritz, Peoria, Ill.
Robert Ingram, Jacksonville, Fla.
Duane Dewey, Irons, Mich.
Don Jenkins, Morgantown, Ky.
Gary Littrell, Saint Pete Beach, Fla.
Charles Coolidge, Signal Mountain, Tenn.
Peter Lemon, Colorado Springs, Colo.
John Baca, Julian, Calif.
Howard Lee, Virginia Beach, Va.
Dakota Meyer, Greensburg, Ky.
Walter Marm Jr., Fremont, N.C.
Robert Maxwell, Bend, Ore.
Ronald Ray, Tarpon Springs, Fla.
Wesley Fox, Blacksburg, Va.
Thomas Kinsman, Toledo, Wash.
Frank Herda, Cleveland, Ohio
Robert Patterson, Pace, Fla.
Robert O’Malley, Goldthwaite, Texas
Michael Thornton, Montgomery, Texas
Clinton Romesha, Minot, N.D.
Michael Fitzmaurice, Hartford, S.D.
Patrick Brady, New Braunfels, Texas
Sammy Davis, Freedom, Ind.
Jack Jacobs, Far Hills, N.J.
Roger Donlon, Leavenworth, Kan.
Charles Hagemeister, Leavenworth, Kan.
James Livingston, Mt. Pleasant, S.C.
Arthur Jackson, Boise, Idaho
Leo Thorsness, Madison, Ala.
Ronald Rosser, Roseville, Ohio
James Fleming, Manvel, Texas
Allen Lynch, Gurnee, Ill.
Clarence Sasser, Rosharon, Texas
Bernard Fisher, Kuna, Idaho
Thomas Norris, Hayden Lake, Idaho
Rodolfo Hernandez, Hope Mills, N.C.
Ola Mize, Gadsden, Ala.
Donald Ballard, Grain Valley, Mo.
Drew Dix, Pueblo, Colo.
Einar Ingman Jr., Irma, Wis.
Ernest West, Wurtland, Ky.
Jon Cavaiani, Columbia, Calif.
Hector Cafferata Jr., Venice, Fla.
Joe Jackson, Kent, Wash.
Walter Ehlers, Buena Park, Calif.
Tibor Rubin, Garden Grove, Calif.
Hiroshi Miyamura, Gallup, N.M.
Nicholas Oresko, Cresskill, N.J.
Brian Thacker, Wheaton, Md.
Gordon Roberts, Erwin, N.C.
Ty Carter, Yelm, Wash.
Leroy Petry, Steilacoom, Wash.
Wilburn Ross, Dupont, Wash.
Bruce Crandall, Manchester, Wash.
John Hawk, Bremerton, Wash.
George Sakato, Denver, Colo.
Robert Simanek, Farmington Hills, Mich.
Harvey Barnum Jr., Reston, Va.
Gary Wetzel, Oak Creek, Wis.
Paul Bucha, Ridgefield, Conn.
John McGinty III, Beaufort, S.C.
Robert Foley, Alexandria, Va.
James Taylor, Trinity Center, Calif.
Salvatore Giunta, Fort Collins, Colo.
Joseph Kerrey, New York, N.Y.
Richard Pittman, Stockton, Calif.
Alfred Rascon, Laurel, Md.
Frederick Ferguson, Chandler, Ariz.
Gary Beikirch, Rochester, N.Y.
Thomas Kelley, Somerville, Mass.
Hershel Williams, Ona, W.V.
Thomas Hudner, Concord, Mass.
Francis Currey, Selkirk, N.Y.
Kenneth Stumpf, Tomah, Wis.
Robert Modrzejewski, San Diego, Calif.
Jay Vargas, San Diego, Calif.
Allan Kellogg Jr., Kailua, Hawaii